“Hyperbole And A Half”: The Most Accurate Descriptions Of Depression I’ve Ever Read

Screen Shot 2013-05-09 at 3.32.19 PMI’m clinically depressed, and I also have an anxiety disorder. I’m not whining. Just saying. Had it for most of my life. It ain’t going away. Survivors of childhood cancer, gay men, and children of alcoholics are prime for this sort of thing, and I’m all three. Anyway, I’m fine. I take meds, and I talk to someone, and I stick around and try to stay on top of it. It’s kinda all you can ask of me. I’m resigned to the fact that it’s not going anywhere.

Two things that make it worse:

1) Guilt about it. “It makes me a pussy, it’s all just excuses on my part to not excel at life, I’m a coward, I’m weak, etc.”

2) Anger. If it had physical symptoms, I feel like it would have less of a stigma. I don’t talk about it much with friends cuz’ there have been times when I’ve felt looked down upon by them over it. So I shut up about it and keep making jokes.

This is Hyperbole and Half. She’s an artist/blogger who had an awesome blog of drawings that poked fun at life. Then she vanished. She came back with this. Holy shit. I don’t know what else to say. She knows me. I want everyone in my life who knows me to fucking read this because now you know me. Well, a big part of me. And even if you shrug and don’t believe it or understand it, it’s ok. At least I’ll know you know now and can never say you don’t.

Part 1.

Part 2.

Tags:

6 Responses to ““Hyperbole And A Half”: The Most Accurate Descriptions Of Depression I’ve Ever Read”

  1. Alan Hunt Says:

    I’ve had depression since I was 14 when I had a childhood cancer. This description of depression doesn’t even come close to the full horror and life crippling effect that this condition can have.
    I don’t know you and don’t know how bad you feel but this, to me, is the self indulgent ramblings of someone who has had a natural (if severe) dip in their thought processes. I can only liken it to a person who has dabbled in drugs telling a long term severe and hopeless addict how bad addiction can be.

    Like

  2. Carly Says:

    That’s just.. wow. Thank you for posting this, I’m terrible at articulating feelings, so now when people try and ask me questions I can just stare and tell them to go read this. Cause like you say, even if people don’t understand, at least they’ll know a little more. x

    Like

  3. Golilith Says:

    Thank you J Harv

    Like

  4. Kristi Says:

    This. I needed to read this tonight. I’m just coming out on the other end of my first and hopefully only severe depressive episode and I’m fighting those feelings of what a failure I am and that my boss sees me as defective goods now and so on and so forth, but I’m trying. Thanks, J. Harvey. Your words mean more than you know.

    Like

  5. cloudsinmycoffee Says:

    J. Harvey you are amazing for posting this. i’m the annoying yoga idiot on the couch, and my poor hubby is in the dirty grey hoodie (sans the angry eyes). thanks for linking this explanation to us lay folk who sometimes, honestly, don’t get it.

    Like

  6. eli Says:

    J. Harvey: I am sorry that your fish and allie’s are dead. Nothing can bring them back, but since you have to eat and/or feed Scotty, perhaps you may want to make them sushi, sashimi, fish filet, fish nuggets, fish and chips, ceviche, etc. Just a thought.
    Thank you, I like you, you are real and I hope that one day you are able to stop bulling yourself because in the end, we are who we are and that is what makes us unique.

    Like

Leave a Reply

